Nuxhall voted in as finalist for Ford C. Frick award

Posted by Trina Edwards - email

COOPERSTOWN, NY (FOX19) - Legendary Reds broadcaster Joe Nuxhall has been named a finalist for the 2010 Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Nuxhall joins Billy Berroa, Skip Caray, Tom Cheek, Jacques Doucet, Lanny Frattare, Graham McNamee, Jon Miller, Herb Score and Dave Van Horne as finalists. The winner will be announced Feb. 1 and honored during the July 23-26 Hall of Fame Induction Weekend in Cooperstown.

Nuxhall was nominated by fans who voted for three selections during online balloting. A A total of 15,505 votes were cast.

It's the second consecutive year that Nuxhall has earned a finalist spot via fan online voting. He received 1,363 votes.

Final voting for the 2010 Frick Award will be conducted by a 20-member electorate, comprised of the 15 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists, including past Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Ernie Harwell, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, 2009 Frick Award winner Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Dave Niehaus, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of NY Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

Nuxhall spent 38 years with the Reds (1967-2004), and totaled 53 years with Reds as a former major league pitcher and broadcaster, before his passing in 2007.

Additional biographical information on the 10 finalists can be found at Voting members will cast their votes by mail in January. Voters are asked to base their selections on the following criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans.

The annual award is named in memory of Hall of Famer Ford C. Frick, renowned sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League president and Baseball commissioner.

Copyright 2010 WXIX-TV and Raycom Media. All Rights Reserved.