No Hall this year for Larkin

COOPERSTOWN, NY (FOX19) - Former Reds shortstop Barry Larkin failed to be voted into the Major League Baseball Fame on his first try.

Andre Dawson was the only player to be voted in, earning 77.9 percent of the votes. Players must receive 75 percent of votes to be voted in. Larkin earned 56.1 percent.

539 ballots, including five blanks, were cast by members with 10 or more consecutive years' service. This year, 405 votes were required to earn the 75 percent needed.

This was the first year Larkin was eligible for the Hall of Fame. Players may remain on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive five percent of the vote in any year.

Copyright 2010 WXIX-TV and Raycom Media. All Rights Reserved.