Cyclones To Meet Idaho In Kelly Cup Finals!

Cyclones To Meet Idaho In Kelly Cup Finals!

Cincinnati Advances To Kelly Cup Finals For Second Time In Three Seasons

CINCINNATI, Ohio – The Cincinnati Cyclones (44-25-3) of the ECHL will take on the Idaho Steelheads (48-17-7) in the Kelly Cup Finals, beginning Friday night (May 14) at Qwest Arena. The series is a best-of-seven that will feature a two-three-two format. The Cyclones are the ECHL affiliate for the Montreal Canadiens and Nashville Predators of the NHL. This is the fourth round of play in the USA Collision Centers playoff march to the Kelly Cup for the Cyclones.

The first two games will be played at Qwest Arena on Friday (May 14) and Saturday (May 15) night. Those games will start at 7:10pm (MT), which is 9:10pm (ET). Both games will be carried on ESPN 1530 with an airtime of 9pm in Cincinnati.

Games three, four and five (if necessary) will be played at U.S. Bank Arena. Game three would be held on Tuesday, May 18 with a 7:30pm start time. For playoff ticket package holders, this would be Game K.

The fourth game would be played on Thursday, May 20 with another 7:30pm start. This would be Game L for playoff package holders. If a fifth game is needed, it would be played on Friday, May 21 at 7:30pm. The final possible game in Cincinnati for 2009-10 would be Game M in the playoff ticket package.

If the sixth and/or seventh games needed, they would be played back in Boise. Game six would happen on Tuesday, May 25 at 7:10pm (MT), while a seventh game would be held on Wednesday, May 26 at 7:10pm (MT).

Both of these games would also be broadcast live in Cincinnati on ESPN 1530 with an airtime of 9pm. Each and every game of the series will be carried on the club's website at Fans can also purchase the video feed of each game through

For the Kelly Cup Finals, the Cyclones are offering a special championship ticket package. For $45 fans can purchase the same seat for all three potential games in the finals at U.S. Bank Arena. These ticket packages will be sold on a first-come, first-served basis with the best seats available. The package will go on sale on Thursday morning at 10am and can be ordered by phone at 513-421-7825, x.3. These will only be available until 4pm on Tuesday, May 18. The first 100 fans to order the ticket package special will receive a Cyclones 2008 replica championship ring. Single game tickets for games three and four of the Kelly Cup Finals are currently on sale.

The American Conference's fifth-seeded Cyclones secured the berth in the Kelly Cup Finals after knocking off Reading for the American Conference title tonight in seven games. Cincinnati became just the sixth team in pro hockey history to rally from an 0-3 deficit in a best of seven series to comeback and win. The Cyclones reached the conference finals after dropping Charlotte, the American Conference's regular season champion—also in seven games.

Cincinnati won its opening round best of five series in overtime of game five against South Carolina, the defending Kelly Cup champions. It is the second visit to the Kelly Cup Finals in the last three years for the Cyclones, who claimed the league title in 2008.

The ECHL's Brabham Cup champions (league's best record) and National Conference's regular season champion Idaho Steelheads have reached the Kelly Cup Finals for the third time. Idaho defeated Stockton in six games last night to earn the berth. For winning the National Conference regular season championship, the Steelheads earned a first round bye, then swept Utah in four games—outscoring the Grizzlies 21-7 along the way. Idaho won the Kelly Cup titles in its previous two advancements in 2004 and 2007.

This will be the first-ever meeting between the Cyclones and Steelheads in the Kelly Cup playoffs, although the teams have met in regular season play.

Cincinnati has a 1-2 record against Idaho, with the last meeting having been played at U.S. Bank Arena on February 18, 2004—a 2-1 shootout win for the Cyclones. The clubs also met two times in Idaho during November 2003 with the Steelheads winning both games by a combined 4-0 score.  This will be only the second time in Kelly Cup Finals history that two John Brophy Award (ECHL's Coach of the Year) winners have coached against one another.

Chuck Weber won the award during the Cyclones run in 2008 and Derek Laxdal won the award with the Steelheads this season. Weber participated in the other Brophy Award winners showdown when he battled Glen Gulutzan (Las Vegas) during the championship run that year for Cincinnati.

This also marks the first time that coaches who have previously won Kelly Cup championships have met. Laxdal has won two championships with Idaho, while Weber claimed his with the Cyclones in 2008.

The complete schedule of games is as follows:

Best-of-seven Kelly Cup Finals – Cincinnati v. Idaho (all times Eastern)

  • Game 1 Friday, May 14 at Qwest Arena 9:10pm (ESPN 1530)
  • Game 2 Saturday, May 15 at Qwest Arena 9:10pm (ESPN 1530)
  • Game 3 Tuesday, May 18 at U.S. Bank Arena 7:30pm
  • Game 4 Thursday, May 20 at U.S. Bank Arena 7:30pm
  • Game 5 Friday, May 21 at U.S. Bank Arena 7:30pm *
  • Game 6 Tuesday, May 25 at Qwest Arena 9:10pm * (ESPN 1530)
  • Game 7 Wednesday, May 26 at Qwest Arena 9:10pm * (ESPN 1530)

* - if necessary

Tickets for all Cyclones games can be purchased at the U.S. Bank Arena box office, all Ticketmaster outlets or can charge by phone at 800-745-3000 or online at The most up-to-date information and broadcast of the games can be found on our website All road games in the USA Collision Centers postseason for the Cincinnati Cyclones can be heard on ESPN 1530.