Cyclones head coach leaving Cincinnati

Chuck Weber
Chuck Weber

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19)  – The Cincinnati Cyclones learned Tuesday that head coach Chuck Weber has been announced as Head Coach of the Rochester Americans, the AHL affiliate of the Florida Panthers.

Weber spent four seasons behind the Cincinnati bench, from 2006-07 through 2009-10, winning two Kelly Cup championships, two North Division titles, a Brabham Cup and earned three consecutive trips to the American Conference Finals.

Additionally, Weber received the 2008 John Brophy Award (ECHL's Coach of the Year), and was runner up for the honor in 2007.

"Having an opportunity to be the head coach in the American Hockey League is something I look forward to," Weber said. "The challenge of working with these players and preparing them for the National Hockey League will be welcomed."

Weber's 177 wins are the third-most by an ECHL coach in his first four full seasons (Dave Farrish 186 wins, and Jason Christie 179 wins are the others in front of him). He also has the third-most playoff victories in ECHL history with 45, trailing only John Brophy (55 in ten seasons), and St. Louis Blues coach Davis Payne (50 in seven seasons). Weber's 45 wins are the most by any ECHL coach in a five-year time frame (and he has completed it in just four).

"Cincinnati holds a special place for me," Weber said. "This was my first head coaching opportunity. It is hard to leave because it is such a good place. I joked about the fact that when I arrived I had been in five cities in the past seven years. These four seasons have been incredible for me. I won't forget them."

Among Weber's accomplishments in his four seasons was securing an affiliation agreement with the NHL's Montreal Canadiens (for all four seasons) and adding the Nashville Predators to the fold in 2007. A total of 67 players were called up during his tenure.

In Weber's eleven-year coaching career, his teams have made it to the postseason nine times. In six of those nine playoff campaigns his teams have either won the championship (2001 Orlando and 2008 and 2010 Cincinnati) or been eliminated from competition by the eventual champion (2003 Milwaukee, 2006 Utah and 2009 South Carolina).

"We're very happy for Chuck Weber to have this opportunity," Cyclones President Ray Harris said. "He has worked very hard to set the bar of excellence here as high as it is."

The defending Kelly Cup Champion Cyclones open their home schedule on Saturday, October 30 at U.S. Bank Arena against the Wheeling Nailers.

Copyright 2010 FOX19. All Rights Reserved.