Hall of Fame inductees

CANTON, OH (FOX19) - The Bengals take on the Cowboys Sunday night in Canton. But on Saturday it was all about the Hall of Fame inductees.

Holding back tears after a minute-long standing ovation, NFL career rushing leader Emmitt Smith has been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Finishing off a hat trick for the "Triplets," Smith joined Dallas Cowboys teammates Troy Aikman and Michael Irvin in the shrine Saturday night. He enters as the NFL's top runner with 18,355 yards and leader in touchdowns rushing (164), seasons with 1,000 or more yards on the ground (11) and games with 100 yards rushing (78).

Smith made the hall in his first year of eligibility and won three Super Bowls, taking MVP honors in the 1994 game. Smith immediately paid tribute to Walter Payton, the man he surpassed for the rushing record, saying, "He had a heart that said I can achieve, I will achieve, and I will be successful. Now, here I am standing at the same podium he did."

Copyright 2010 FOX19 and The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.