Governor Strickland announces 2010 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Inductees

By Mark Shuller - Email

COLUMBUS, OH (FOX19) – Ohio Governor Ted Strickland today announced the 2010 inductees to the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame. The 20 veterans being inducted served our nation during times of combat and peace spanning from the Civil War to Operation Desert Storm.

The 2010 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held Friday, November 5th at 3:00 p.m. in the auditorium of the Franklin County Veterans Memorial in Columbus.  The ceremony is open to the public and begins with a community reception at 2:00 p.m.

"We are humbled by the accomplishments of all Ohio veterans and the contributions they make to our communities and nation," said Governor Strickland.  "These Ohio Hall of Fame veterans stand out as wonderful examples of answering the call to a lifetime of service."

Honorees for the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame are nominated throughout the year. They include Ohioans from any branch of the military and all eras of military conflict. A 13-member executive committee of veterans' representatives reviews the nominations each summer and recommends names to the governor for induction to the hall of fame.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame was established in 1992 to recognize Ohio veterans who have made significant contributions to their community, profession, state and nation after serving honorably in the United States armed forces. In May 2005, the Ohio General Assembly established the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame in statue.

The induction ceremony will follow the Columbus Veterans Day parade that begins at 12:00 p.m. at the corner of Nationwide Boulevard and High Street and ends in front of the Franklin County Veterans Memorial on Broad Street.