Cincinnati PFWA honors Whitworth and Benson - Cincinnati News, Weather, Sports from FOX19 NOW-WXIX

Cincinnati PFWA honors Whitworth and Benson

By Mark Shuller - Email

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) – The Cincinnati Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America has named offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth as the Bengals' 2010 Most Valuable Player, and HB Cedric Benson has been named the recipient of the organization's "Good Guy" award. The voters are the beat writers who cover the team on a daily basis.

Whitworth, the team's starting left offensive tackle, continues to establish himself as one of the top linemen in the conference. In his last 35 games starting at left tackle, he has given up only four sacks. In his last 57 games at left tackle and left guard, only six.

"I think the voters are recognizing Whit's entire body of work," said PFWA spokesman Joe Reedy, Bengals beat writer for The Cincinnati Enquirer. "He has done the job against the top pass rushers in the league, he's an excellent run blocker, and he's clearly one of the team leaders. (WR) Terrell Owens had a great year, but in the end consistency won out."

Whitworth is the second offensive lineman in the nine years the Cincinnati PFWA has named an MVP to win the award. Past winners were QB Jon Kitna (2002-03), HB Rudi Johnson (2004), QB Carson Palmer (2005), WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh (2007-08) and CBs Leon Hall and Johnathan Joseph (2009). Benson is the ninth recipient of the organization's "Good Guy" award, given for excellent relations with local media.

"In a season in which it has been difficult to talk, Benson has always been available, whether on Wednesdays or after games, when he has been one of the last ones in the locker room," Reedy said. "In a frustrating season such as this one has been for the team, it's extremely important to us that he has set an example as a team leader to help us bring our readers the information that they so strongly desire."

Past "Good Guy" winners have been FB Lorenzo Neal, OT Willie Anderson, HB Brandon Bennett, LB Brian Simmons, DT John Thornton, WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh, DT Bryan Robinson, G Bobbie Williams and QB Carson Palmer. Anderson, Houshmandzadeh and Palmer are the only players to win both the MVP and the Good Guy awards.

Powered by Frankly