KYTC District 6 Crews at work in the southern counties

COVINGTON, KY (FOX19) - The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet snow and ice removal crews for the KYTC District 6 counties of Boone, Bracken, Carroll, Campbell, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Kenton, Owen, Pendleton and Robertson area are treating state roads of the early morning snowfall.

The southern counties of Grant, Pendleton, Harrison, Robertson and Bracken are receiving a steady snowfall. The remaining counties are spot treating areas as needed.

District 6 currently has 16,000 tons of salt available. When in full force, there are 123 trucks available to treat state highways and interstates. In the Northern Kentucky counties of Boone, Kenton and Campbell, there are 60 trucks available.

Maintenance crews in District 6 are prepared to work as long as it takes to ensure the roads are in the best condition possible during this winter event. Condition reports on major routes are available by calling 511 or logging onto the 511 travel and traffic information web site at Road conditions are described in the following manner:

Wet Pavement - The roadway is wet. Ice could form as temperatures drop.

Partly Covered - The roadway is partly covered with snow, slush or ice. Markings may be obscured.

Mostly Covered - The roadway is mostly covered with snow, slush or ice. Roadway markers may be difficult to see because of packed snow and rutting conditions.

Completely Covered - The roadway is completely covered with snow, slush or ice and markings are obscured.

Impassible - Roadway conditions are not suitable for travel unless required by an emergency.

Drivers are also reminded that bridges and overpasses are typically the most treacherous. Motorists should use extreme caution when traveling during this winter event.

Remember to share the road with KYTC equipment and always buckle up and drive smart.

Copyright 2011 FOX19. All rights reserved.