Summer burn ban begins for Northern Kentucky

INDEPENDENCE, KY (FOX19) – Beginning on May 1st 2011, the Kentucky Environmental Protection Cabinet will once again issue a ban on open burning in the Northern Kentucky counties of Boone, Campbell and Kenton.

These counties have been designated as nonattainment for ozone and particulate matter. This means that due to the high density of emissions produced in these counties are contributing to the depletion of the ozone layer. This ban will be in effect through September 30, 2011, and then beginning on October 1st 2011 the Kentucky Department of Forestry has a ban established as the fire hazard season.

This ban makes it unlawful to set a fire within one-hundred and fifty feet of any woodland, except between the hours of 6pm and 6am local time or when the ground is covered with snow.

The ban set forth by the Kentucky Environmental Protection Cabinet has the following exceptions, unless open burning violates Commonwealth of Kentucky laws or local ordinances:

(1)   Fires set for cooking food for human consumption.

(2)   Fires set for fire hazard prevention.

(3)   Fires set for bona fide firefighter training.

(4)   Fires set for recognized agricultural and wildlife management.

(5)   Fires set for the purpose of disposing of accidental spills or leaks of petroleum products or other organic materials, if no other available and practical means of disposal is economically feasible. Permission from the Kentucky Environmental Protection cabinet shall be obtained prior to burning.

(6)   Fires set for recreational or ceremonial purposes.

The Independence Fire District will not issue any burn permits for open burning during the Kentucky Environmental Protection Cabinet's ban on open burning. Contact your local fire department prior to any burning to obtain a burn permit and to find out if any additional burn bans are currently in effect.