President declares major disaster exists in Ohio from spring floods

WASHINGTON, DC (FOX19) - President Obama declared on Wednesday that a major disaster exists in the State of Ohio and ordered Federal aid to aid state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by storms in April and May.

The President says that federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities.

The counties affected by this declaration are Adams, Brown, Clermont, and Hamilton.

Other counties in Ohio that can receive help are Athens, Belmont, Gallia, Guernsey, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington.

Senator Robert Portman welcomed the news of the disaster declaration, saying in a release, "It will take a considerable amount of time and money for the communities affected by the storms to recover and rebuild. Many of the areas that were hit hard are already distressed due to high unemployment and a weak infrastructure that makes it difficult to handle weather related emergencies. I'm glad the President has agreed with the Ohio delegation and Governor that the affected counties should receive federal assistance to help them get back on their feet again."

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

You can find out about programs offered as a result of this declaration by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development by clicking here.

Copyright 2011 FOX19. All Rights Reserved.