Communities recognized for storm readiness

FLORENCE, KY (FOX19) - Three Northern Kentucky cities are being recognized for severe weather preparedness.

The National Weather Service office is renewing the StormReady Recognition for Boone County and the cities of Union, Florence and Walton.

StormReady is a program that recognizes communities for their response and recovery efforts to severe weather events.

NWS officials say StormReady communities are better equipped to save lives and promote awareness of storms.

Boone County first received StormReady recognition in 2002. This renewal will extend the designation through 2014.

Copyright 2011 FOX19. All Rights Reserved.