Fans can vote for Nuxhall to be on Ford C. Frick ballot

COOPERSTOWN, NY (FOX19) - Legendary Reds broadcaster Joe Nuxhall is one of 75 broadcasters vying for fan votes to be included on the Ford C. Frick Award ballot.

Fans can participate in an online vote throughout the month of September on the Hall of Fame's Facebook page,

This year, the Museum has pared the list of fan-eligible candidates to 75 – two representing every current big league team and 15 at-large selections -- based on popularity, longevity and past voting results in the online fan balloting. Reds broadcaster Waite Hoyt is also up for consideration.

Eligible candidates must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two.

Results of the fan voting will be announced on October 5. The final 2012 Frick Award ballot will be comprised of the three fan selections, along with seven other candidates, determined by a Hall of Fame staff research team.

The 2012 Ford C. Frick Award winner will be announced December 6 at baseball's Winter Meetings.

Copyright 2011 FOX19. All Rights Reserved.