Nuxhall fails to make Ford C. Frick Award ballot

COOPERSTOWN, NY (FOX19) - Late legendary Reds broadcaster Joe Nuxhall has failed to make the final ballot for the Ford C. Frick Award for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Nuxhall needed to gain enough fan votes to make the final ballot. Fans had to vote at the Hall of Fame's Facebook page. A total of 37,212 votes were cast, a record under this voting format.

Tom Cheek, Mike Shannon and Jacques Doucet received the most amount of fan votes. The other broadcasters on the ballot - Skip Caray, Rene Cardenas, Ken Coleman, Bill King, Tim McCarver, Graham McNamee and Eric Nadel - were chosen by a Hall of Fame research committee.

Final voting for the 2012 Frick Award will be conducted by a 20-member electorate, comprised of the 15 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists, including former Frick honoree Marty Brennaman.

The 2012 Ford C. Frick Award winner will be announced December 6 at baseball's Winter Meetings.

Copyright 2011 FOX19. All Rights Reserved.