Phillips and Votto win Gold Gloves - Cincinnati News, FOX19-WXIX TV

Phillips and Votto win Gold Gloves


MLB announced Tuesday night that two Reds won Gold Gloves for best defensive player at their respective position.

Brandon Phillips won his third Gold Glove in four-years at National League second base.  Phillips only committed six errors in 148 games.

"It just shows my hard work really played off," Phillips said on ESPN's awards special.

Joey Votto won his first Gold Glove at National League first base.  Votto is the first Reds first baseman to ever win the award.  Votto won the National League MVP in 2010.

Jay Bruce was nominated for National League right field, but did not win a Gold Glove award.

Other winners also included:

American League

P - Mark Buehrle, Chicago White Sox

C - Matt Wieters, Baltimore

1B - Adrian Gonzalez, Boston

2B - Dustin Pedroia, Boston

SS - Erick Aybar, L.A. Angels

3B - Adrian Beltre, Texas

LF - Alex Gordon, Kansas City

CF - Jacoby Ellsbury, Boston

RF - Nick Markakis, Baltimore

National League

P - Clayton Kershaw, L.A. Dodgers

C - Yadier Molina, St. Louis

1B - Joey Votto, Cincinnati

2B - Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati

SS - Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado

3B - Placido Polanco, Philadelphia

LF - Gerardo Parra, Arizona

CF - Matt Kemp, L.A. Dodgers

RF - Andre Ethier, L.A. Dodgers

Copyright 2011 FOX19. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Powered by Frankly