Several Bearcats win postseason Big East honors

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - Several UC Bearcats have earned postseason Big East honors.

Head coach Butch Jones was named Coach of the Year, the fourth time a UC head coach has earned the honor. Jones engineered a five-win turnaround from last season, leading Cincinnati to a share of the Big East championship and an appearance in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl after a 9-3 regular season.

Running back Isaiah Pead was named Big East Offensive Player of the Year, the first Cincinnati player to earn the honor. Pead led the BIG EAST with 11 rushing touchdowns and was second in the conference in rushing, averaging 92.5 yards per game.
Defensive tackle Derek Wolfe joined Rutgers linebacker Khaseem Greene as the Big East Defensive Players of the Year. Wolfe is the first Cincinnati player to be named Big East Defensive Player of the Year following a regular season in which he led the conference with 19.5 tackles for loss and had 9.5 sacks.
In addition, guard Randy Martinez, linebacker JK Schaffer, safety Drew Frey and punter Pat O'Donnell join Pead and Wolfe in earning first team honors, and offensive tackle Alex Hoffman and quarterback Zach Collaros earned second team honors.
Copyright 2011 FOX19. All Rights Reserved.