NKU joins Division 1 Atlantic Sun Conference

After years of discussion, the deal is done; Northern Kentucky University is about to become a Division 1 school.

NKU's board of regents voted Thursday to accept an invitation into the Atlantic Sun Conference, and finally making the move to Division 1 status.

Here is how the conference will look next fall:

NKU will be joined by East Tennessee State, Florida Gulf Coast, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, Lipscomb, Mercer, North Florida, South Carolina Upstate and Stetson.

Belmont will be leaving for the OVC.

Copyright 2011 FOX19. All Rights Reserved.