Eight new U.S. Attorneys appointed to Advisory Committee

U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder
U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder

WASHINGTON (FOX19) - Attorney General Eric Holder announced today the appointments of eight new U.S. Attorneys to serve two-year terms on the Attorney General's Advisory Committee (AGAC).

The newest Attorneys are Laura E. Duffy of the Southern District of California; Timothy J. Heaphy of the Western District of Virginia; Brendan V. Johnson of the District of South Dakota; Pamela C. Marsh of the Northern District of Florida; Carmen Milagros Ortiz of the District of Massachusetts; Robert L. Pitman of the Western District of Texas; James L. Santelle of the Eastern District of Wisconsin; and Carter M. Stewart of the Southern District of Ohio. Their terms are effective on Jan. 1, 2012.

"These U.S. Attorneys bring a wealth of experience and diversity to the AGAC, and I will be relying on each of them for their wise counsel as we continue to work together with our law enforcement partners to advance the department's efforts to preserve our national security, reduce violent crime and gang violence, promote civil rights and ensure fairness in the marketplace," said Atty. Gen. Holder.

The AGAC, created in 1973, represents the voice of the U.S. Attorneys and plays a crucial role in advancing the department's law enforcement mission as well as advising the Attorney General on policy, management and operational issues impacting the Offices of the U.S. Attorneys.