Federal emergency declared for Kentucky

WASHINGTON, DC (FOX19) - President Obama has declared that a major disaster exists in Kentucky and is sending federal aid to supplement commonwealth and local recovery efforts in areas affected by Friday's deadly storms.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Kenton and Pendleton Counties, along with Johnson, Laurel, Lawrence, Menifee, and Morgan Counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

FEMA is continuing to examine other areas hit by Friday's storms, and other areas may receive federal aid after the assessments are fully completed.

Elizabeth Turner has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

If you believe that you qualify for assistance and live in one of the counties that is receiving federal aid, you can apply for assistance by registering online at http://www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Copyright 2012 WXIX. All Rights Reserved.