Smog Alert issued for portions of the Tri-State for Tuesday

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - A smog alert has been issued for portions of the Tri-State for Tuesday.

The alert will be in effect for Boone, Butler, Campbell, Clermont, Hamilton, Kenton and Warren Counties on July 31. Air pollution levels are expected to be in the range considered unhealthy for sensitive groups.

Children, the elderly and people with respiratory problems should stay indoors during the smog alert, according to the Regional Ozone Coalition. Residents can do their share for cleaner air by keeping tired well inflated, don't idle your vehicle and turn off unused lights.

Copyright 2012 WXIX. All rights reserved.