85 of Ohio's 88 counties designated disaster areas

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - The U.S. Department of Agriculture granted Governor John Kasich's request for a Secretarial disaster designation for 85 of Ohio's 88 counties. Butler, Hamilton, Clermont, Brown, Clinton and Highland counties are among those designated as natural disaster areas.

"Agriculture is an essential component of Ohio's economy and our heritage, and if our farmers and Ohio's food industry are suffering, Ohio suffers.  The federal declaration will help keep farmers on their feet and mitigate some of the damage caused by the bad weather," said Kasich.

The request comes after the severe heat, rainfall shortages and other weather-related disaster that struck the majority of the state.

Eligible Ohio farmers get access to drought-related federal assistance including relief payments for non-insurable losses, emergency low-interest loans for crop losses and temporary deferral of payment on federal loans due to the designation. Farmers in the disaster area counties are encouraged to contact their local Farm Service Agency office for more information.

Copyright 2012 WXIX. All rights reserved.