CPS announces dates for magnet kindergarten lottery

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - Cincinnati Public Schools will hold a limited online lottery on Oct. 13-20 for a portion of open kindergarten seats in selected magnet schools for the 2013-14 school year.

This will be the second year for CPS' Magnet Kindergarten Lottery, which is designed to allow more equitable access to kindergarten seats in the district's popular magnet schools.

Parents of eligible students entering kindergarten in August 2013 may apply to the lottery online starting at 6 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 13, 2012, through 11 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 20, 2012. Parents apply online at the CPS website at www.cps-k12.org.

After the lottery closes Oct. 20, a computer program will randomly select lottery winners from among all the lottery applications.

The lottery will assign students to 30 percent of the kindergarten seats that remain open at the eligible magnet schools after Oct. 5, 2012, the close of the magnet Early Application Period.

Students eligible for this kindergarten lottery must live in the attendance boundaries of specific neighborhood schools. These neighborhood schools were identified based on the school's performance on the most recent Ohio Report Card.

Eligible neighborhood schools for 2013-14 lottery include Mt. Airy School, Pleasant Hill Academy, Rees E. Price Academy, Rockdale Academy, W. H. Taft School, Ethel M. Taylor Academy and Westwood School.

The Magnet Kindergarten Lottery will assign seats only into specific magnet schools that have a history of generating waiting lists.

A tentative list of magnet schools receiving lottery students for 2013-14 include Dater Montessori School, Fairview-Clifton German Language School, North Avondale Montessori School, Sands Montessori School and the School for Creative and Performing Arts (SCPA).

Copyright 2012 WXIX. All rights reserved.