Jay Bruce of the Cincinnati Reds nominated for Hank Aaron award - Cincinnati News, Weather, Sports from FOX19 NOW-WXIX

Jay Bruce nominated for Hank Aaron award


Fan voting begins today for the 2012 Hank Aaron Award.

The Hank Aaron Award honors the most outstanding offensive performer in each League.

For the third straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award.

The Hall of Fame panel includes Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, and Robin Yount. 

These Hall of Famers – who combined for 12,119 hits, 4,984 RBI and 888 home runs – have all been personally selected by Hank Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League. 

Beginning today and continuing through October 16th fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club.

The winners of the 2012 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2012 World Series.

The finalists for the 2012 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League

National League

Baltimore Orioles

Adam Jones

Arizona Diamondbacks

Aaron Hill

Boston Red Sox

Dustin Pedroia

Atlanta Braves

Jason Heyward

Chicago White Sox

Alex Rios

Chicago Cubs

Alfonso Soriano

Cleveland Indians

Shin-Soo Choo

Cincinnati Reds

Jay Bruce

Detroit Tigers

Miguel Cabrera

Colorado Rockies

Carlos Gonzalez

Kansas City Royals

Billy Butler

Houston Astros

Jose Altuve

LA Angels of  Anaheim

Mike Trout

Los Angeles Dodgers

Andre Ethier

Minnesota Twins

Joe Mauer

Miami Marlins

Giancarlo Stanton

New York Yankees

Derek Jeter

Milwaukee Brewers

Ryan Braun

Oakland Athletics

Josh Reddick

New York Mets

David Wright

Seattle Mariners

Kyle Seager

Philadelphia Phillies

Carlos Ruiz

Tampa Bay Rays

B.J. Upton

Pittsburgh Pirates

Andrew McCutchen

Texas Rangers

Josh Hamilton

St. Louis Cardinals

Matt Holliday

Toronto Blue Jays

Edwin Encarnacion

San Diego Padres

Chase Headley



San Francisco Giants

Buster Posey



Washington Nationals

Adam LaRoche

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.  

Cast your vote on the MLB website here - http://cincinnati.reds.mlb.com/mlb/fan_forum/haa/y2012/index.jsp?

Powered by Frankly