Bush declares four more Ohio counties disaster areas

President Bush has cleared the way for federal aid to local governments in four more storm-damaged Ohio counties.

Governor Taft says Athens, Delaware, Holmes and Tuscarawas counties now will be eligible for help. Thirteen other counties already were on the list. The eastern part of Ohio was repeatedly struck storms from May 18th to June 21st, causing wind and flood damage.

Local governments in those counties can apply for federal assistance to remove debris, make emergency preparations and repair public infrastructure. Residents and businesses in 21 counties are eligible for individual federal assistance, which can include money for temporary housing and small business loans.

Taft says more than 16 million dollars has been given in the past month to Ohioans affected by storms.