McGuire wins AZ Senate seat in Legislative District 8 - Cincinnati News, Weather, Sports from FOX19 NOW-WXIX

Democrat Barbara McGuire wins AZ Senate seat in Legislative District 8

Democrat Barbara McGuire, Republican Joe Ortiz Democrat Barbara McGuire, Republican Joe Ortiz

Democrat Barbara McGuire has won the Arizona Senate seat in Legislative District 8.

McGuire describes herself as a moderate Democrat, businesswoman and Salvation Army Director with decades of service to rural Arizona communities.

According to her campaign website, her motto is "EAR - efficient, accountable, responsive" government.

"My goal in seeking to be elected is to be able to continue to give back to all of the communities throughout my district as the chosen voice for the district," she wrote on her website.

She supports people making their own healthcare choices. McGuire is in favor of comprehensive sex education in our schools aimed at helping to eliminate unwanted and premature pregnancies as well as helping prevent the spread of STDs.

Her endorsements included the National Rifle Association, Arizona Nurses Association, United Steelworkers and the Professional Fire Fighters of Arizona

Republican Joe Ortiz owns a trucking company and a commercial tire company in Casa Grande. He calls for getting government out of the way of the state's businesses.

On education, Ortiz said on his website, "We need to put more money into the classrooms and put the focus back on the kids."

Challenger Dean Dill was the Libertarian candidate. Dill admitted while he is a politician, "I am a citizen that wants to make a difference for Arizona and the people of this great state," he stated on his website.

Newly drawn District 8 lies in Pinal and Gila counties. Pinal County communities include Oracle and San Manuel in the southeastern part of the county and portions of San Tan Valley, Casa Grande, Florence, Eloy and Coolidge in the central part of the county. In southern Gila County the district includes Globe. The district extends as far east as the border of Graham County and as far west as the I-10 corridor.

Copyright 2012 CBS 5 (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly