Cincinnati's Moeller beats Toledo's Whitmer for state title - Cincinnati News, FOX19-WXIX TV

Moeller is back, wins first title since '85

Posted: Updated:

Cincinnati, OH (FOX19) - Moeller's proud football tradition is back.  

Spencer Iacavone's efficient passing and a stout defense helped Cincinnati Moeller defeat Toledo Whitmer 20-12 for the Ohio Division I championship Saturday night at Fawcett Stadium. It's Moeller's eighth state title and first since 1985.

Moeller running back Keith Watkins scored the Crusaders' first touchdown.  "It's just an honor. We haven't been here in a long time.  It's tremendous that we just won state.  It's really unbelievable."

Iacavone was 15-19  for 161 yards and a touchdown.

Moeller only managed a field goal in the second half but held off a previously undefeated Panthers team.

"Our guys worked so hard this year and fought through everything.  We've seen it all," said linebacker Shane Jones.  "I'm so proud of our guys that we can finally hold this trophy again."

The Crusaders finish the season 12-3.

Copyright WXIX and AP, All Rights Reserved

Powered by WorldNow