12 ON YOUR SIDE ALERT: Facebook photo synch option - Cincinnati News, FOX19-WXIX TV

12 ON YOUR SIDE ALERT: Facebook photo synch option

We have shared with you warnings about reading and thinking before you click on "ok" when you are asked to enable a feature. These features can be helpful - but sometimes you are opting-in to give up some of your privacy.  

One new Facebook feature helps you save your photos so you never lose a photo again when your tablet or phone crashes. In this case, unlike their usual tactics, Facebook didn't just turn the feature on without asking. But WBTV's cyber expert, Theresa Payton says, there's a risk to your privacy and security if you don't tweak it before you use it. 

Theresa is worried about 3 things:  your data plan, privacy, and security

TIPS:

1.  You may see a "Get started" message on  your device

2.  When you "Get started", Facebook will automatically upload the last 20 photos and will then automatically upload EVERY PHOTO you take from that point forward. 

3.  Even though you still have to allow that photo to be seen by others, Facebook can still "look" at the photo to mine it for information (geo codes for location or facial recognition for example)

Did you accidentally turn this feature on and want to change that?  You can turn off the Facebook Photo Sync:  instructions

Do you have the "Dockster" Mac malware?  Not sure?  Try going to Sopho's web site for a free tool to check and remove it:  anti-virus tool.

Copyright 2013 WBTV/WWBT NBC12. All rights reserved. 

Powered by WorldNow