SEC announces new bowl agreements for 2014 season - Cincinnati News, Weather, Sports from FOX19 NOW-WXIX

SEC announces new bowl agreements for 2014 season

(RNN) - The Southeastern Conference has announced new bowl agreements that begin with the 2014 season, timed to coincide with the new College Football Playoff that will go into effect after the 2014 season.

The biggest change: the SEC will participate in the AllState Sugar Bowl and the Discover Orange Bowl in selected years.

The Capital One Bowl in Orlando, FL, which features a tilt with ACC or Big Ten, will have first pick of available SEC teams after the College Football Playoff, the Sugar or the Orange Bowl have made their selection.

After that, six bowls have renewed ties with the SEC and two new bowls have been added:

Outback Bowl in Tampa (vs. Big Ten); Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville (vs. ACC/Big Ten); Gator Bowl in Jacksonville (vs. ACC/Big Ten); and AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis (vs. Big 12); as well as new agreements with the Texas Bowl in Houston (vs. Big 12) and Belk Bowl in Charlotte (vs. ACC).

The conference will consult with SEC member institutions and bowl officials to make the assignments in the new system.

"This bowl process gives us the best opportunity to address several issues that impact SEC fans, including the creation of intriguing matchups, the accommodation of travel for fans, reduced ticket obligations for our schools and a variety of assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations," said Commissioner Mike Slive in a news release.

The SEC has also renewed its relationship with both the Birmingham Bowl (vs. TBA) and the Advocare V100 Bowl in Shreveport (vs. ACC). The Birmingham Bowl will have the first selection of available teams following the pool of six bowls. The Advocare V100 Bowl will have the next selection of available teams following the Birmingham Bowl, the release stated.

Copyright 2013 Raycom News Network. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly