Cranley schedules hearing for streetcar Monday

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - Mayor-Elect John Cranley announced the jurisdictions and chairs of nine City Council Committees.

Cranley states that the group of Chairs will work in a collaborative manner to move Cincinnati forward. Committees, jurisdictions, and chairs are listed below.

Additionally, Cranley announced a series of hearings on the streetcar:

  • Monday, December 2 at Noon
    The newly formed Streetcar Committee, Chaired by Vice Mayor-Designate David Mann will meet at Noon on Monday to consider a proposal aimed at pausing streetcar spending and implementing a comprehensive, objective review of the project in order to determine the true cost of cancellation vs. continuation.
  • Monday, December 2 at 4:00 p.m.
    A special session of City Council will be held at 3:00 p.m. on Monday, December 2nd to consider the proposal introduced in the Streetcar Committee.  There will be no limits on the number of public speakers, though each speaker will be limited to two minutes.

Cranley said, "We are going to stop spending $50,000 per day on the streetcar until we have an open, transparent accounting of the true cost of cancellation vs. continuation."  Cranley added, "We owe it to the voters who elected us to be responsible with their dollars and ensure that we choose the best course forward."


  • Budget and Finance Committee; Chair Charlie Winburn
    Jurisdiction: Budget, appropriations, bonds, financial reporting, federal and state grants, sale and lease of property, health, pension and tax policies.
  • Law and Public Safety Committee; Chair Christopher Smitherman
    Jurisdiction: Police, fire, safety policies, citizen complaint authority, and liquor licenses.
  • Neighborhoods Committee; Chair David Mann
    Jurisdiction: Zoning, planning neighborhood corridors, utility planning, neighborhood business districts, parks and recreation, housing, Neighborhood Enhancement Program, and community councils.
  • Education and Entrepreneurship Committee; Chair PG Sittenfeld
    Jurisdiction: Education, Pre-School Promise, community colleges, university relations, CPS relationship, SBE, small business, venture capital (Cintrifuse, Brandery, etc.), entrepreneurialism, business start-up incubation, workforce development, and job training.
  • Human Services, Youth and Arts Committee; Chair Yvette Simpson
    Jurisdiction: Human Services, youth issues, summer jobs, homelessness, poverty task force, arts and culture.
  • Major Transportation and Regional Cooperation Committee; Chair Amy Murray
    Jurisdiction: Major transportation and infrastructure projects including, but not limited to, Eastern Corridor, 1-71/MLK Interchange, I-75 Corridor, public transit, Shared Services, SORTA, Hamilton County TID, OKI, DCI, tourism, marketing and special events, and the Chamber of Commerce.
  • Economic Growth and Infrastructure Committee; Chair Christopher Smitherman
    Jurisdiction: Development Agreements, residential and commercial development processes, inclusion policies, downtown development, casino development, Port Authority, Infrastructure and GO Cincinnati.
  • Rules and Audit Committee; Chair Kevin Flynn
    Jurisdiction: Comprehensive Charter and election reform, Council rules and procedures, audit, City Manager appointment and review, and committee memberships.
  • Streetcar Committee; Chair David Mann
    Jurisdiction: Streetcar

Copyright 2013 WXIX. All rights reserved.