CPS, Milford schools receive science grant

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - Cincinnati Public Schools and Milford Exempted Village School District have received a $1.1 million grant from the state to help teach science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

CPS and Milford will work with the Partnership for Innovation in Education, Smarter Schools and two other partners to implement the the program in six Milford elementary schools and 12 CPS schools.

The grant proposal is designed to help address a shortage of students pursuing careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, the districts said.

Also included in the consortium are the Mayerson Academy in Corryville and the Northern Kentucky University Center for Applied Informatics.

The CPS schools involved are School for Creative and Performing Arts, Rothenberg Preparatory Academy, Rockdale Academy Elementary School, Aiken College and Career High School, James N. Gamble Montessori High School, Clark Montessori High School, Pleasant Ridge Montessori School, Kilgour Elementary School, Academy for Multilingual Immersion Studies, Sands Montessori, Hughes STEM High School and Hyde Park School.

The six Milford schools are Meadowview Elementary, McCormick Elementary, Mulberry Elementary, Pattison Elementary, Seipelt Elementary and Boyd E. Smith Elementary.

"I'm extremely excited about this opportunity to engage our students' creativity in real-world problem-solving while building the STEM skills that are so valuable in the 21st century economy," said CPS Superintendent Mary Ronan.

Copyright 2013 WXIX. All rights reserved.