Kroger completes merger with N.C. grocery chain

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - Kroger Co. and North Carolina-based Harris Teeter Supermarkets Inc. announced Wednesday that the two companies have completed a merger.

The companies said Harris Teeter will continue to operate its stores under the Harris Teeter brand name as a Kroger subsidiary.

The deal gives Cincinnati-based Kroger a base of 227 stores in the southeastern, mid-Atlantic and Washington, D.C. markets.

There are no plans to close stores. Harris Teeter will continue to have its headquarters in Matthews, N.C.

Kroger has more than 368,000 workers,  2,641 supermarkets and multi-department stores in 34 states and the District of Columbia under two dozen names including Kroger, City Market, Dillons, Food 4 Less, Fred Meyer, Fry's, Harris Teeter, Jay C, King Soopers, QFC, Ralphs and Smith's.

The company also operates 786 convenience stores, 327 fine jewelry stores, 1,218 supermarket fuel centers and 38 food processing plants in the United States, Kroger said.

Copyright 2014 WXIX. All rights reserved.