Three Kenton County Airport board members resign

KENTON COUNTY, KY (FOX19) - Three Kenton County Airport board members have resigned, including the board's chairman and vice chairman.

Jim Huff, chairman of the Kenton County Airport Board, Larry Savage, vice chairman of the board, and airport board member Mark Arnzen submitted their letters of resignation effective on Friday, immediately.

In a joint statement, Huff and Savage released a statement saying:

"When former Kenton County Judge-Executive Ralph Drees appointed both of us to the Kenton County Airport Board, we accepted the appointment because we thought we could make a positive impact on the board in our community."

Huff and Savage state that they believe their experience made the airport stronger.

"It is our hope that our resignations will enable CVG to address the many challenges and opportunities that lie ahead."

In response, Kenton County Judge-Executive Steve Arlinghaus appointed William (Bill) Robinson III as chairman and Kathy Collins as vice chairman. Chad Summe will replace Arnzen on the airport board.

"Jim Huff and Larry Savage have been long time members of the airport board, being first appointed to the board by former Judge-Executive Ralph Drees, and I had the honor of appointing Mark Arnzen to the board in 2012," Arlinghaus said.

Robinson, a lawyer with more than 40 years experience, previously served on the Kenton County Airport Board from 1998 to 2006, including two years as chairman of the board (2004-2006) during the administration of former Judge-Executive Drees.

Collins, a senior private banker at Fifth Third Bank, currently serves on the Kenton County Airport Board Advisory Committee. Summe is the Director of Strategic Accounts for, a digital, social, and mobile marketing firm with offices in Mason, Ohio.

Copyright 2014 WXIX. All rights reserved.