What each snow emergency level means

(FOX19) - An explanation of the Snow Advisory levels:

Level 1: 

Roadways are hazardous. Motorists are urged to drive very cautiously.

Level 2:

Roadways are hazardous with blowing and drifting snow. Roads can be very icy. Only those who feel it necessary to drive should be out on the roadways. People should contact their employer to see if they should report to work. Obviously, if you are driving, use extreme caution.

Level 3:

All roadways are closed to non-emergency personnel. No one should be driving during this condition unless it is absolutely necessary, or a personal emergency exists. All employees should contact their employers to see if they should report to work. Anyone traveling on the roads may subject themselves to arrest.

Click HERE for the continuously updated forecast from FOX19.

Copyright 2014 WXIX. All rights reserved.