Coalition for a Drug-Free Greater Cincinnati honors community members

FOX19's Dan Wells and Jessica Brown. File photo
FOX19's Dan Wells and Jessica Brown. File photo

(FOX19) - New community awards were handed out at this year's Coalition for a Drug-Free Greater Cincinnati's Community Awards Breakfast Friday to honor current and past leaders who have championed drug prevention in the Tri-State.

FOX19's Dan Wells and Jessica Brown served as emcees.

The theme of the fundraising event, which was at the Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, was "Prevention First. Because It Works."

The three new awards honored founding member Sen. Rob Portman, R-Terrace Park,  the late Ohio 12th District Court of Appeals Court Judge Rachel Hutzel and the late Cincinnati community leader Carolyn Ford-Griffith.

Hutzel and Ford-Griffith are former Drug-Free Greater Cincinnati board members.

The following individuals or organizations were recognized:

Rob Portman Leadership Award  

Awardee: Richard N. Aft

Drug-Free Greater Cincinnati board member and former president of the United Way of Greater Cincinnati

Rachel Hutzel Prevention Partner Award 

Awardee: Coalition for a Drug-Free Batesville, Batesville, Ind.

Carolyn Ford-Griffith Youth of the Year Award 

Awardee: Christina Duechle a senior at Lawrenceburg High School, Lawrenceburg, Ind.

"These awards are a way for us to show the region just what positive work individuals and organizations are doing day in and day out to ensure substance prevention is the norm in our community not drug abuse," said  Mary F. Haag, the coalition's president, CEO and executive director. "These awardees live and breathe the theme of our event, 'Prevention First. Because It Works.'"

Copyright 2014 WXIX. All rights reserved.