Sergio Reyes, Amy Robillard win Flying Pig Marathon

(Photo: FOX19/Kelly Rippin)
(Photo: FOX19/Kelly Rippin)

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - Sergio Reyes successfully defended his Flying Pig Marathon titles by winning the 2014 Flying Pig in a time of 2:27:21, his third straight victory in Cincinnati and fourth overall.

Reyes, 32, of Palmdale, Calif., also won in 2009, 2012 and 2013.

"Generally, I try to keep it an honest race and keep it strong, but every year presents a different challenge, and this year for me there were a few injury setbacks but I played it conservative and didn't worry about the time out there today," he said.

Second for the men was Donnie Warner, 30, of Cincinnati, in 2:28:39. Warner came in second in the 2009 and 2011 Toyota 10K and was fourth in the 2010 Marathon. Third was 30-year-old Kota Reichert of Palo Alto, California, in 2:28:57.

Amy Robillard, 34, of Montgomery, won her first Flying Pig Marathon title with a time of 2:55:53. She is a two-time half marathon champion in the Flying Pig, winning in 2011 and 2012.

"It was unbelievable, said Robillard. "Running with people, you pull for them, they pull for you, everyone wants to have a great race. I just have fun. I smile a lot out there, because we've been through a lot in the last four years, so this is a pleasure."

Robillard's son, Jameson, underwent a bone marrow transplant shortly after his birth four years ago with an immune deficiency disorder. He's now doing well with his older sister, Adalene, who is six.

"When I think I'm tired and hurting, it's nothing compared to what my son went through, so I can't complain," Robillard said. "I just want to be a good role model for them."

Second in the women's division was the 2012 winner of the Flying Pig Marathon, Rachel Bea, 32, of Cincinnati, in 1:26:28 and third was 29-year-old Mary Paulsen of Columbia, South Carolina in 1:26:43.

A record 36,131 participants registered for Flying Pig Marathon weekend events. The field represented all 50 states and 19 countries.

Check out 'All things Flying Pig Marathon 2014' for all the race day information you need.

Copyright 2014 WXIX. All rights reserved.