Freedom manager named to Frontier Hall of Fame

FLORENCE, KY (FOX19) - Florence Freedom manager Fran Riordan has been named a member of the inaugural class of the newly created Frontier League Hall of Fame.
He will be formally recognized at the All-Star Luncheon July 15 at the Casino Queen in East St. Louis, Ill.
"I never saw him as a player but he's a Hall of Fame manager in my book," Freedom owner Clint Brown said. "He deserves this honor and we couldn't be more excited for him."
Riordan played for the Richmond Roosters in 1997, 1998, 2001, and 2002 and for the Dubois County Dragons in 1999 and 2000.

He was a Post-Season All-Star in 2000, 2001, and 2002 and had the Frontier League career records for games played, at bats and RBI while ranking second in hits when he finished.  In 411 Frontier League games, Riordan compiled a .295 batting average with 449 hits, 50 home runs, and 312 RBI.

He served as player-manager for Dubois County in 2000 and for Richmond in 2001 and 2002 then returned to the Frontier League as field manager for Kalamazoo from 2004-09 and has led the Freedom since the 2011 season. Riordan has three Frontier League titles as a manager (2001, 2002 and 2005) and is the career leader in managerial wins. He has led the Freedom to the playoffs the past two seasons.
Fellow members of the first Frontier League Hall of Fame class include players Morgan Burkhart, Aaron Ledbetter, Scott Pinoni, and Kirk Taylor; special contributor Dr. W. Chris Hanners;
and the special moment of Brett Gray's 25-strikout game for the London Werewolves.
The Hall of Fame selection committee as appointed by the Frontier League's board of Directors, included Rockford Aviators' President Bryan Wickline, Gateway Grizzlies' General Manager
Steve Gomric, and Evansville Otters' Field Manager Andy McCauley.

In addition, Frontier League Commissioner Bill Lee and Deputy Commissioner Steve Tahsler were part of the committee.  These five individuals combine for 80 years of service in the Frontier League. 
Three categories were established, players, special contributors and special moments.

In order to be eligible for consideration, players must have been on one of the two All-Decade Teams (1993-2002 and 2003-2012). In addition, they must have finished playing in the Frontier League for at least three seasons and finished playing professional baseball for at least one season.
Copyright 2014 WXIX. All rights reserved.