December Basketball Classic to feature local prep teams - Cincinnati News, FOX19-WXIX TV

December Basketball Classic to feature local prep teams

The very first Mercy Health Tipoff Classic will feature 16 boys and girls basketball teams played at different campus sites over a two-week period in December (FOX19/Jeremy Rauch) The very first Mercy Health Tipoff Classic will feature 16 boys and girls basketball teams played at different campus sites over a two-week period in December (FOX19/Jeremy Rauch)
CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) -

The very first Mercy Health Tipoff Classic will feature 16 boys and girls basketball teams played at different campus sites over a two-week period in December. The games run from December 2 through December 16 featuring area powerhouses such as Moeller, La Salle, Mason girls and Princeton girls.

“Just as the Crosstown Showdown does for football, the Mercy Health Tipoff Classic will provide a center stage for area high school basketball teams,” said Yousuf J. Ahmad, Cincinnati Market President and CEO of Mercy Health.

“We are going to create a unique experience for attendees and participants,” said In-Game Sports President Tom Gamble. “We envision the same growth for this event as we've seen in the Showdown.”

The complete schedule of games is listed below:

Tuesday, December 2 – Newport Central Catholic at Dixie Heights

Wednesday, December 3 – Mason at Colerain (Girls)

Thursday, December 4 – St. Ursula at McAuley (Girls)

Friday, December 5 – Finneytown at Roger Bacon, Lakota West at Kings

Saturday, December 6 – La Salle at Hamilton, Mariemont at Turpin

Tuesday, December 9 – Conner at Cooper, Taylor at Harrison

Wednesday, December 10 – Princeton at Lakota West (Girls)

Thursday, December 11 – Mt. Notre Dame at Mercy (Girls)

Friday, December 12 – Elder at Winton Woods, Milford at Anderson

Saturday, December 13 – Sycamore at Walnut Hills, McNicholas at Madeira

Tuesday, December 16 – North College Hill at Moeller (7 p.m.)

*All games tip off at 7:30 p.m. except where noted

*Tickets available at schools and on game day at the gate

Copyright 2014 WXIX. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly