Frazier elected NL starter at 3B in the 2015 MLB All-Star Game

Frazier elected NL starter at 3B in the 2015 MLB All-Star Game

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - Todd Frazier was elected to start at third base for the National League in the 2015 Major League Baseball All-Star Game at Great American Ball Park on Tuesday, July 14.

It will be Frazier's second straight All-Star selection and his first as a starter. He is the first Reds player to start an All-Star Game since 1B Joey Votto and 2B Brandon Phillips did it in 2013. Frazier joins Hall of Famer Tony Perez (1970), Pete Rose (1976, 1978) and Chris Sabo (1990-91) as the only Reds third basemen to earn a fan election.

"It's something you think of when you play in the backyard with your brothers's gonna be a great time," said Frazier after being elected as a starter.

Frazier beat Matt Carpenter of the St. Louis Cardinals by two-million votes at third base. He had trailed Carpenter by 63,000 with four days of voting left.

"I was really nervous. I was excited. It was a huge comeback. Definitely have a bunch of thanks to all of the people," said Frazier.

Frazier finished with 9,233,686 votes and was the third biggest vote-getter in the NL. Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals and Buster Posey of the San Francisco Giants both finished ahead of Frazier.

Entering Sunday's game, Frazier is tied for second in the MLB with 25 home runs and ranks third with a .610 slugging percentage.  He also ranks third in the NL with 54 runs scored and seventh with 54 RBI.  The 29-year-old is batting .289 this season with 24 doubles and is the only player in the MLB with at least 20 home runs and 20 doubles.

The NL elected starters are catcher Buster Posey, first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, second baseman Dee Gordon, shortstop Jhonny Peralta, third baseman Todd Frazier, and outfielders Bryce Harper, Giancarlo Stanton and Matt Holliday.

The AL elected starters are catcher Salvador Perez, first baseman Miguel Cabrera, second baseman Jose Altuve, shortstop Alcides Escobar, third baseman Josh Donaldson, outfielders Mike Trout, Alex Gordon, and Lorenzo Cain.  Nelson Cruz was voted in as the starting designated hitter.

More Reds may be elected to the All-Star Game. On Monday at 7 p.m., the All-Star reserves, pitchers and final vote candidates will be announced.

You can watch the MLB All-Star Game only on FOX19 NOW on Tuesday, July 14 at 7 p.m.

Copyright 2015 WXIX. All rights reserved.