Middletown's Jalin Marshall among four Buckeyes suspended

Middletown's Jalin Marshall among four Buckeyes suspended

COLUMBUS, OH (FOX19) - Ohio State will be without four of their best players in the season opener at Virginia Tech. Middletown native Jalin Marshall, Dontre Wilson, Joey Bosa and Corey Smith have been suspended for "Violating Department of Athletics policy," the school announced on Thursday.

ESPN's Joe Schad reports the four Buckeyes were suspended for "Marijuana and Academics."

Marshall, an H-back and redshirt Sophomore, became a huge part of Ohio State's offense in the latter part of the Buckeyes 2014 championship campaign with 983 yards of total offense and eight touchdowns.

Wilson, another H-back option and junior for the Buckeyes, compiled 1,064 yards of offense and three receiving touchdowns before missing significant time in the last two months with a broken foot.

Bosa was a unanimous All-American at defensive end and 2014 Big Ten Defensive Lineman and Player of the Year with his 55 tackles and 13.5 sacks. The Buckeyes could look to Moeller grad and Redshirt Freshman DE Sam Hubbard to fill Bosa's
spot in the season opener.

Corey Smith was a minimal part of Ohio State's receiving game last year with 20 catches for 255 yards, but his role is expected to grow in 2015 with the loss of star receivers Evan Spencer and Devin Smith.

The Buckeyes travel to Virginia Tech on Monday, September 7, looking for revenge after a loss at home to the Hokies last season.

Copyright 2015 WXIX. All rights reserved.