15 charged in federal gun blitz

15 charged in federal gun blitz

CINCINNATI, OH (FOX19) - A federal grand jury has charged 15 individuals with federal gun charges in separate indictments Cincinnati, U.S. Attorney Carter Stewart announced Tuesday.

The cases are part of an anti-violence initiative involving a focus from law enforcement to combat gun violence in the city.

Officials are targeting habitual offenders who can be sent to prison for much longer periods of time if they can be tied to alleged gun possession.

The 15 defendants represent the first group of alleged habitual offenders indicted as part of the initiative, said Stewart, in a release.

The 15 people indicted are Dennis Hicks, 30; Steven Ivery, 30; Willie Jackson, 25; Jarvis Levy Jr., 35; Donte Martin, 28; Donell McCreagh, 55; Nicholas Metz, 34; Jeno Moore, 25; Alvin Palmer, 25; Keno Phillips, 41; Brian Simms, 33; Ronald Steele, 25; Oscar Torbert, 27; Terrance Williams, 28; and Steven Young, 31.

The blitz involved a partnership between federal, state and local agencies.

Copyright 2016 WXIX. All rights reserved.