14 GOP candidates battle for Boehner’s seat

14 GOP candidates battle for Boehner’s seat

CINCINNATI (FOX19) - Voters will pick from a packed field of candidates to fill the seat held by former U.S. House Speaker John Boehner in his western Ohio district.

Republican voters will choose from 14 candidates in Tuesday's dual primary race for the District 8 vacancy.

The regular primary race will choose the candidate who faces the uncontested Democratic and Green Party challengers in the Nov. 8 general election and will fill the seat in January 2017.

The special primary chooses one of the same 14 GOP candidates who face off in the June 7 special general election to immediately fill Boehner's seat.

Only one Democrat and a Green Party candidate are running for the June 7 special election and Nov. 8 general election.

The candidates include: Scott George, Warren Davidson, Bill Beagle, J.D. Winteregg, John Robbins, Edward Meer, Timothy Derickson, George Wooley, Joseph Matvey, Michael Smith, Terri King, Jim Spurlino, Kevin White and Eric Haemmerle.

Copyright 2016 WXIX. All rights reserved.