Filibuster Fight

Judiciary committee moves two blocked 6th Circuit nominees

Two of President Bush's blocked judicial nominees for the Cincinnati-based Sixth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals have won approval from the Senate Judiciary Committee today.

The committee approved by voice vote the nominations of Richard Griffin and David McKeague. The two were cleared for confirmation by this week's Senate compromise on filibusters. They now move to the full Senate for confirmation.

Democrats had been blocking Griffin and McKeague at the request of Michigan's two Democratic senators, Carl Levin and Debbie Stabenow. But they agreed not to hold up the nominations anymore as part of the discussion over the use of judicial filibusters.