How to turn off Snapchat's tracking feature - Cincinnati News, FOX19-WXIX TV

How to turn off Snapchat's tracking feature

Snapmap shows where your friends are (Snapchat). Snapmap shows where your friends are (Snapchat).
Snapmap settings allows users to turn ghost mode on or off (Snapchat). Snapmap settings allows users to turn ghost mode on or off (Snapchat).
(FOX19 NOW) (FOX19 NOW)
FOX19 -

Snapchat recently introduced a new feature that has some of its users a bit creeped out. Luckily, there’s a way to disable it.

Snapmap allows others to pinpoint your exact location based on where you made your last post. Depending on your settings, users do not even have to be friends to access others’ locations.

This has raised privacy concerns, particularly for parents whose children use the app. This feature, however, can be turned off using a setting called “Ghost mode.”

To enable ghost mode, a user can pinch the Snapchat screen, which accesses the map. In the top righthand corner of the screen is the ‘Settings’ button. Within settings is an option to turn Ghost mode on or off and even select specific friends who can view your location.

Although this feature may only seem to promote danger and a lack of privacy, it can be helpful when used safely.

Snapmap allows friends to connect and concerned parents to put their minds at ease.

Copyright 2017 WXIX. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly