LIST: Areas under state of emergency

Streets around the banks of the Ohio River are underwater, including here on Riverside Drive in Covington, KY (FOX19 NOW(
Streets around the banks of the Ohio River are underwater, including here on Riverside Drive in Covington, KY (FOX19 NOW(

NEW RICHMOND, OH (FOX19) - Heavy rain will hit the Tri-State through Sunday, setting the Ohio River up for its highest flood level since 1997.

The river could reach more than 59 feet by Tuesday morning. As of Saturday afternoon, the river sits at 57.4 feet.

Several government entities have declared a state of emergency as a result of the rising waters.

+ PHOTOS: Major flooding hits the Ohio River
LIST: Roads close as river continues to rise
+ Track live radar in the FOX19 NOW First Alert Weather App
+ Shelters open for flood victims

State of emergencies:


Gov. Matt Bevin has declared a statewide emergency in response to continued heavy rainfall events which have caused widespread flooding and damage to critical infrastructure across Kentucky. The Governor's executive order enables state resources to be mobilized and made ready to assist cities and counties should they be needed.

In response to rising floodwaters, search and rescue teams have been placed on standby to provide evacuation assistance as needed. State cabinet partners and the National Guard are also preparing for flood response activities.

Covington and Kenton County, Ky.

The Mayor of the City of Covington declared an emergency due to the extensive flooding occurring as a result of excessive rainfall in the region. 

Excessive rainfall has created extensive flooding conditions in the City. The City's Public Improvements staff installed floodgates in the City's levees to stop the floodwaters from the Ohio and Licking rivers.

Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Clermont, Columbiana, Gallia, Hamilton, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson. Lawrence, Monroe, Meigs, Muskingum, Scioto, and Washington counties.

Ohio Governor John R. Kasich issued a state of emergency for 17 counties along the Ohio River on Saturday.

"As the weather and flooding is expected to get worse we're staying ahead of things by taking our readiness up to the next level and declaring an emergency where we expect the worst conditions," Kasich said.

More Ohio counties could be added to the list as-needed, officials said.

New Richmond, Ohio

New Richmond Village Council declared a state of emergency with the Ohio River at moderate flood level and expected to reach 59.4 ft by Tuesday. Mayor Ramona Carr issued a warning letter to residents so they make necessary arrangements to secure property's, pets, and living arrangements. She urged residents to pay close attention to weather forecasts as rain continues to raise river levels.

Village Emergency Services personnel are working closely with Clermont County EMA, Duke Energy, and the Red Cross to prepare for the impact of the rising waters. Areas of New Richmond are flooded with several roads closed, making travel difficult.  For more information, you can visit the village website.

Augusta, Ky.

The City of Augusta is declaring a State of Emergency in anticipation of the rising river levels. This declaration is for the protection of the lives and property of the residents of Augusta. During this State of Emergency, all emergency operations will be operating out of the Augusta Fire Department.

If you need immediate assistance please report to the fire department or call the City Office at (606) 756-2183.

Dearborn County, Ind.

Dearborn County is transitioning from the response to recovery stage of the current flooding incident.

Currently, the county still has several county roads that remain closed. State Route 56 in Aurora has been opened. The State Route 350 bridge remains closed at this time. Before the bridge can be opened it must be inspected by an INDOT engineer which cannot be completed until the water level drops.

Other Indiana counties

The following 19 Indiana counties have issued county emergency declarations: Benton, Carroll, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Elkhart, Floyd, Fulton, Jasper, Jefferson, Lake, Marshall, Ohio, Perry, Spencer, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland, Warrick, and White.

Red Cross shelters: 

  • Alexandria, Ky. Red Cross Shelter currently open and operating at the Alexandria Community Center -- 8236 W. Main Street, Alexandria, Ky.
  • Lawrenceburg, Ind. Red Cross is delivering cots and blankets to Lawrenceburg High School where a shelter is being established -- 300 Tiger Blvd., Lawrenceburg, Ind.
  • Clermont County. A Red Cross Shelter will open Saturday, Feb. 24 by 4 p.m. at New Richmond High School -- 1131 Bethel-New Richmond Rd, New Richmond, Ohio.
  • Hamilton County. Mt. Washington Rec Center, 1715 Beacon Street, Cincinnati. Contact 513-579-3045 if you need shelter.
  • Temporary emergency animal shelter Saturday afternoon at the First Baptist Church in New Richmond, 213 Western Ave., New Richmond. Pastor Chet Sweet (513-553-1956) in conjunction with the Red Cross shelter.

Copyright 2018 WXIX. All rights reserved.