Ky. gets EPA waiver on reformulated gasoline

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Gov. Steve Beshear says the Environmental Protection Agency has granted Kentucky a temporary waiver from reformulated gasoline in some counties.

The counties of Boone, Campbell, Jefferson and Kenton, along with portions of Bullitt and Oldham counties, are covered by the waiver from now through the end of September.

Beshear asked for the waiver on Monday, claiming that recent hurricanes have caused an unusual fuel supply. Conditions have weakened the supply of reformulated gasoline in these areas.

The waiver allows the sale of conventional gas in the counties. Three bordering states of Virginia, Ohio and Tennessee have similar waivers.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)