No hall of fame this year for Nuxhall - Cincinnati News, FOX19-WXIX TV

No hall of fame this year for Nuxhall

COOPERSTOWN, NY (FOX19)  - There will be no Hall of Fame this year for Reds legendary broadcaster Joe Nuxhall.

The 2010 Ford C. Frick Award will go to Jon Miller, who has called Major League Baseball games for the A's, Rangers, Red Sox, Orioles and his current team – the Giants – in addition to working with ESPN.

Nuxhall was one of ten finalists for the award, which is given annually for excellence in broadcasting.

The Old Lefthander made the ballot after he was nominated by fans who voted for three selections during online balloting. A total of 15,505 votes were cast. It was the second consecutive year that Nuxhall has earned a finalist spot via fan online voting. He received 1,363 votes. 

A 20-member electorate comprised of 15 other Frick recipients, including Nuxhall's radio partner and 2000 winner Marty Brennaman, as well as five broadcast historians/columnists, made the decision.

Nuxhall passed away in November 2007 at age 79. He enjoyed a 63-year association with the Reds, first as a player, making his major league debut at the age of 15, and then as a broadcaster, sitting in the radio booth from 1967-2004.

Voters were asked to base their selections on the following criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans.

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a ballclub, network, or a combination of the two. More than 195 broadcasters were eligible for consideration for this year's award.

Powered by Frankly