UC commit, Wyoming QB Evan Prater becomes Cincinnati’s 1st Mr. Football since 1992

UC commit, Wyoming QB Evan Prater becomes Cincinnati’s 1st Mr. Football since 1992
Wyoming Quarterback Evan Prater (Source: Cincinnati Enquirer, Tony Tribble)

WYOMING, Ohio (Cincinnati Enquirer) - For the first time in 27 years, Ohio’s Mr. Football resides in Cincinnati. Wyoming High School senior quarterback Evan Prater who was Ohio Division IV Offensive Player of the Year brings the title back to Greater Cincinnati for the first time since Norwood’s Marc Edwards won in 1992, according to FOX19 NOW’s media partners at the Cincinnati Enquirer.

Since then, Cincinnati has had considerable representation in state championships, but no Mr. Football winners until Wednesday's announcement.

Prater’s high school football career ended last weekend with a Division IV semifinal lost to Clyde. That left his high school record as a starting quarterback at Wyoming at 40-2. Both losses came deep in the playoffs to end undefeated seasons in 2017 and this year. Last season, he led the Cowboys to the Division IV state title at 15-0 with a dominant performance in Canton.

The 6-5, 190-pound dual-threat ran for 242 yards and three touchdowns and was 6-for-11 passing for 149 yards and two more scores. It was Wyoming's first state title in 41 years.

In the offseason, Prater made more local headlines when he committed to the University of Cincinnati in May. Joining him there is older brother Garyn Prater, who transferred from Ohio State. Garyn has been injured this season, but the two have the chance to play together again as they did when Evan was a freshman. Both Praters starred in football and basketball at Wyoming.

Evan Prater, who was also offered in basketball by Wright State, finished his career throwing for 5,699 yards and 72 touchdowns and ran for 4,124 yards and 73 scores. Most of that came in three seasons as he served as back-up to current Northwestern quarterback Andrew Marty his freshman year.

In addition to Marc Edwards, who went on to star at Notre Dame and played in the NFL with the Browns and Patriots, the Mr. Football trophy has been given to many accomplished players.

Robert Smith was a two-time winner who went on to Ohio State and the NFL after winning in the late 1980s. Charles Woodson won in 1994, then went to Michigan and became a rare defensive Heisman Trophy winner.

Others from Ohio State include 1995′s Andy Katzenmoyer and Maurice Clarett in 2001. Current Heisman favorite Joe Burrow of Athens won in 2014 before going to OSU, then LSU.

Prater makes it four with a UC connection. Ben Mauk of Kenton won in 2002 then went to Wake Forest and transferred to Brian Kelly's Bearcats for the 2007 season. Akise Teague won in 2010 out of Youngstown Ursuline and was briefly a Bearcat and current running back Michael Warren II won in 2016 out of Toledo Central Catholic.

Evan Prater is expected to sign with coach Luke Fickell’s Bearcats Dec. 18.

Copyright 2019 Cincinnati Enquirer. All rights reserved.