Ohio Department of Health issues COVID-19 travel advisory for 14 states (updated map)

Ohioans are urged to reconsider travel to Wyoming as well
Updated: Nov. 19, 2020 at 7:30 AM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CLEVELAND, Ohio (WOIO) - The Ohio Department of Health released an updated COVID-19 travel advisory map Wednesday with 14 states listed.

Ohioans are encouraged to avoid South Dakota, North Dakota, Iowa, Wyoming, Idaho, Kansas, Alabama, Montana, Utah, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Missouri, Oklahoma, Minnesota, Arizona and Mississippi.

caption((Source: Ohio Department of Health))

Wyoming is shaded gray on the travel advisory map because an accurate positivity rate cannot be calculated, the health department said.

The health department said these states’ COVID-19 testing data is incomplete, but recent trends suggest Wyoming is at an elevated positivity level.

Individuals traveling to Ohio from the fourteen states are urged to self-quarantine for two weeks. They are not required to do so.

Self-quarantining is recommended for those traveling to areas with a COVID-19 positivity rate over 15%.

Positivity rate is an indicator of how much COVID-19 there is in a community, and the health department does not recommend travel to states with high positivity.

The advisory applies to Ohio residents returning to the state from one of the listed areas, as well as Ohio tourists.

You can read more here.

Copyright 2020 WOIO. All rights reserved.