Big Ten changes rule: Ohio State will now play for conference title

Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields throws a pass against Nebraska during the first half of...
Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields throws a pass against Nebraska during the first half of an NCAA college football game Saturday, Oct. 24, 2020, in Columbus, Ohio. (AP Photo/Jay LaPrete)(Jay LaPrete | AP)
Updated: Dec. 9, 2020 at 4:34 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CINCINNATI (FOX19) - The undefeated No. 4 Ohio State Buckeyes will play in the Big Ten Championship game after the conference changed a ruling on Wednesday.

The Buckeyes (5-0) would not have reached the six-game requirement to play for the conference title with this Saturday’s game against Michigan canceled because of positive COVID-19 cases within the Wolverines’ program.

The Big Ten eliminated the minimum-game requirement and advanced OSU to the title game citing “competitive analysis.”

No. 4 Ohio State and No. 14 Northwestern (5-1) will meet on Saturday, Dec. 19 at 12 p.m. for the championship. The game will be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis and will be aired on FOX19 Now.

Here is the statement from the Big Ten:

“The Big Ten Conference Administrators Council, which includes the Directors of Athletics and Senior Women Administrators from all 14 member institutions, voted today to eliminate the minimum-game requirement for participation in the 2020 Big Ten Football Championship Game. The decision was made in collaboration with the Big Ten Council of Presidents and Chancellors and the conference office. The decision was based on a competitive analysis which determined that Ohio State would have advanced to the Big Ten Football Championship Game based on its undefeated record and head-to-head victory over Indiana regardless of a win or loss against Michigan. As a result of the decision, Ohio State will represent the East Division in the 2020 Big Ten Football Championship game against Northwestern. The conference continues to prioritize the health and safety of our student-athletes and remains flexible and united with its 14 member institutions and partners during these unprecedented times.”

See a spelling or grammar error in our story? Click here to report it. Please include title of story.

Copyright 2020 WXIX. All rights reserved.