10 Tri-State counties considered ‘substantial, high transmission’ areas for COVID-19

Published: Jul. 27, 2021 at 4:38 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CINCINNATI (WXIX) - Ten counties in the Tri-State are considered “substantial or high transmission” areas for COVID-19, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Dearborn, Boone, Kenton, Campbell, Grant, Gallatin, Butler, Clinton, Brown, and Adams County are in the red (high) or orange (substantial) levels of the CDC’s map.

High transmission is classified as places with more than 100 cases per 100,000 in a seven-day period.

Substantial transmission is defined by the CDC as areas with 50 cases per 100,000 in a seven-day period.

Hamilton, Clermont, and Warren are not areas where COVID-19 is considered highly or substantial transmittable, according to the map.

Hamilton County is seeing a rise in cases, but Health Commissioner Greg Kesterman said they are not seeing the levels as some other counties.

“We’re not quite there yet in Hamilton County, but because we are seeing a significant number of cases right now, we would encourage folks to be cautious when they’re out and about,” Kesterman said.

People in areas with “substantial” and “high” transmission of COVID-19 are now recommended to wear masks indoors, the CDC announced Tuesday. The recommendation is for everyone, regardless if they are vaccinated.

In addition, the CDC now recommends all teachers, staff and students in kindergarten through 12th-grade schools should wear masks, regardless of their vaccination.

The latest recommendations are a result of the delta variant spreading in unvaccinated people across the country, the CDC cited.

See a spelling or grammar error in our story? Please include the title when you click here to report it.

Copyright 2021 WXIX. All rights reserved.