Springdale mom charged in 5-year-old daughter’s death
SPRINGDALE, Ohio (WXIX) - A Cincinnati-area mother is under arrest on felony charges of involuntary manslaughter and endangering children in connection with her 5-year-old daughter’s death last summer.
Bryce Camille Foster, 26, was arrested in Chicago when her warrants were discovered during a traffic stop, Officer Keenan Riordan, Springdale police spokesman, wrote in a news release Wednesday.
Foster was booked into the Hamilton County Justice Center just before 6 p.m. Tuesday and made her first court appearance in the case on Wednesday morning.
She failed to provide adequate and timely medical care to her daughter, Kaysen Blackshear, on Juafter recognizing that she was in medical distress on July 17, 2021, at a residence in the 1000 block of Chesterdale Drive, police wrote in court records and a news release.
“Rather than calling 911, Foster attempted multiple home remedies, including reportedly providing CPR for several hours prior to taking Kaysen to Liberty Children’s Hospital by private transport,” the news release states.
“Kaysen arrived at the hospital in full cardiac arrest and died a few days later. Based upon the Coroner’s findings, the delay in providing medical care for Kaysen caused her death. It was previously reported that Kaysen had some injuries to her face, back, and a chipped tooth, but it is not believed those played any role in her death.”
The child was pronounced dead on July 19, 2021, at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital’s main campus in Avondale, according to the Hamilton County Coroner’s Office
The little girl was mentally disabled, Foster’s attorney said in court during her arraignment Wednesday morning.
A county assistant prosecutor requested a high bond for Foster and said she did not feed her daughter or give her water to drink for weeks.
Hamilton County Municipal Court Judge Bernie Bouchard set Foster’s total bond for both charges at $300,000 “secured,” which means the entire amount has to be provided in cash and/or with an asset such as property before she will be released. If Foster fails to show up for any court appearances in the future or her arrest is ordered, the court will keep it.
Police signed her arrest warrant back on Jan. 20, but she fled the area and that, combined with waiting for the coroner’s lab report, is the reason her arrest was just made this week, nearly a year after daughter’s death, the judge tells FOX19 NOW.
“The defendant’s admitting to police that she withheld basic care, food and water, from her 5-year-old daughter in the hope that her daughter would die, couple with her flight to Chicago to avoid arrest, forces the court to set a high bond to assure her appearance,” Bouchard said Wednesday.
As Foster stood in front of the judge, emotional, her attorney said her client was unaware of the warrant. Springdale Police Sgt. Mike Schultz disagrees with that notion, though.
“I do believe that Ms. Foster was aware of these charges and took steps to avoid being arrested for it, including moving to Chicago,” Sgt. Schultz explained.
If Foster is able to post bail and be released from jail, Bouchard ordered her to be on house arrest with an electronic monitoring unit (EMU).
The case goes to a Hamilton County grand jury on May 20.
According to Ohio Revised Code, the offense of involuntary manslaughter occurs when one individual causes another person’s death or involuntary miscarriage as a result of the offender’s criminal negligence or recklessness, particularly if the offender should have known that their actions could lead to another person’s death.
In Foster’s case, it’s a first-degree felony. That’s because she is accused of committing the third-degree felony of endangering children when she allegedly caused the death of her daughter.
If convicted, she could be sentenced to up to 11 years in prison on the involuntary manslaughter charge and be ordered to pay a $20,000 fine, according to the state code.
If she is convicted of the endangering children charge, she could face anywhere from probation for up to five years or nine months to three years in prison with a fine not to exceed $10,000.
See a spelling or grammar error in our story? Please include the title when you click here to report it.
Copyright 2022 WXIX. All rights reserved.